HobbiesHobby ForumHobby WikiHobby Blogs
Zealot Hobby Forum

Go Back   Zealot Hobby Forum > Card Models > Card Models > Internet Auction Offerings



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2007, 02:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
sneaker
Member
 
sneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 73
Default ALERT:Ebay Piracy...Again?

Now I am not one to get bent out of shape, but when I see something like this, it really pisses me off. This is The exact reason why the author (I know his name, but I would end up butchering it in print) of these fine models, pulled them off of his site. http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=260079313014

Check out other items to sell as well. What is one to do in a case like this? I can/will report them, but does Ebay truly listen? What if some of us report together would it accomplish anything. Feedback/thoughts on this matter would be truly appreciated. I stumbled on these accidentally. I clicked on the wrong link from another website (google ads or somewhat). Mod, if this is in the wrong area, please move to the appropriate place.

David
sneaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 05:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
RAleischman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Default Seller's reply

I sent a message to the seller. Here is his reply:

"No I did not. I am a complete novice when it comes to paper models. I purchased a packet w/ several of these kits printed out, as well as a floppy disk w/ the photos of completed kits from a convention I attended a while back. I never assembled them and now I'm just trying to get my foolish investment back "
RAleischman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 06:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
angevine
Senior Member
 
angevine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 225
Default

I have contacted e-bay myself about this user and his other listings.

Not sure if they will listen as all they are interested in is getting their money from the sale.

This was (again) recently highlighted over here in the British Media and if they can't get them to do anything about it, what else can we do..

We continue to try though....

Regards,
__________________
Angevine
****************************************
It may be small, but it gets the job done!
angevine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 07:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
angevine
Senior Member
 
angevine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 225
Default

On a sub note, it is quite interesting the amount of usernames he has gone through.
  1. galacticarmory Nov-06-06 Present
  2. tk533 Sep-20-02 Nov-06-06
  3. utinnicardshop Mar-28-01 Sep-20-02
  4. princessyoda Oct-20-98 Mar-28-01
Been caught a few times maybe?

Regards,
__________________
Angevine
****************************************
It may be small, but it gets the job done!
angevine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 08:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
paulhbell
Senior Member
 
paulhbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,122
Default

Hi all. I've just read his listing of this item and it look's like he's copied it off a PDF file. I have seen this model on various sites for free and I will report him for copyright violations. Just doing my bit. Lets all report him, Ebay can't ignore everybody. He will have to change his id again and now it's harder to falsify yor own feedback he may have to stop selling free to download models.
paulhbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 08:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
ARMORMAN
Senior Member
 
ARMORMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 623
Default

This one looked familiar to me:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Gemini-IV-Paper-...QQcmdZViewItem
ARMORMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 09:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
paulhbell
Senior Member
 
paulhbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,122
Default

The thing is, if 'you'(that means anybody on the planet) buy a model say 10 years ago, didn't build it and now want to sell it, I would say ok. It's the people that copy models that are free downloads, then sell then on, that gets my back up. It is easy to find really good quality models on the internet, without buying them. Just spend a little time looking using google 'etc'. But most 'free to download' sites state that the model can be downloaded free of charge, but most not be sold on.
paulhbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 09:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
ARMORMAN
Senior Member
 
ARMORMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 623
Default

Like this?:

http://cgi.ebay.com/CDROM-41-PAPER-M...QQcmdZViewItem
ARMORMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 09:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
paulhbell
Senior Member
 
paulhbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,122
Default

Yes. Like that one. I like the spelling,'''cederom'''. That seller has even used photos that are on the websites he downloaded them from.
paulhbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 09:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
sneaker
Member
 
sneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAleischman
I sent a message to the seller. Here is his reply:

"No I did not. I am a complete novice when it comes to paper models. I purchased a packet w/ several of these kits printed out, as well as a floppy disk w/ the photos of completed kits from a convention I attended a while back. I never assembled them and now I'm just trying to get my foolish investment back "
Absolutely amazing! Here is my response I received from this seller this Morning.
Quote:
My sincere apologies. I am a complete novice when it comes to paper models. I purchased a packet w/ several of these kits printed out, as well as a floppy disk w/ the photos of completed kits from a vendor at a convention I attended a while back. I never assembled them and now I'm just trying to get my foolish investment back . It appears that I got swindled if they are free out there....
They seem to have a standard reply ready to go. I reported him/her. Let's see what happens.
sneaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 09:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
paulhbell
Senior Member
 
paulhbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,122
Default

It would be a full time job looking for fakes 'etc'.
paulhbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 09:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
sneaker
Member
 
sneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulhbell
It would be a full time job looking for fakes 'etc'.
LOL

I was thinking that myself. I found this on accident, I do not go looking for card models on Ebay. Just following some links. These were some of the first models I downloaded and built, and had eventually got me hooked on this hobby.
sneaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 10:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
diamondback
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scammer
My sincere apologies. I am a complete novice when it comes to paper models. I purchased a packet w/ several of these kits printed out, as well as a floppy disk w/ the photos of completed kits from a vendor at a convention I attended a while back. I never assembled them and now I'm just trying to get my foolish investment back . It appears that I got swindled if they are free out there....
Rebuttal:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback, sometime legal scholar
So, you admit that you are selling STOLEN PROPERTY. There is a name for this... [voice=Mr. Rogers]Can you say, "Dealing in stolen property"? Can you say, "FELONY"? I knew you could... [/voice] Accordingly, I am referring this matter to the original designer, with statute citations so that he may press criminal charges.

Y'all have a real bad day now, y'hear?
diamondback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 10:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Amazyah
Sr. Card Models Admin.
Card Models Administrator
 
Amazyah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Foothills of the Smoky Mountains
Posts: 3,477
Default

Purchased at a convention, huh?

A Pirate convention?

Russell
__________________
Selling off a good portion of my model collection.
Nothing up at the moment but I'll get some up soon.
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZcardmodelsnmore
Amazyah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2007, 11:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
paulhbell
Senior Member
 
paulhbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,122
Default

I have emailed the seller to remove the items for sale. Lets see what he does. Everybody ask the seller a question, he will soon get fed up and remove them.
paulhbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 AM.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.